Anxiety and laughter are not mutually exclusive (daily post prompt)

Headshot taken by Colobus Yeti Photography

Photo by ColobusYeti

People often seem surprised that I have anxiety with the occasional side helping of depression as they often will see me smiling and laughing.  I use the word ‘surprised’, perhaps sometimes disbelief is more appropriate to describe what I see in their faces or hear in their voices.  It seems that to some people unless you are sad or panicked 100% of the time, you clearly cannot have any difficulties and are simply exaggerating or making it up.

Well I do chuckle, I do laugh, I do enjoy things…and I do have anxiety that at times has been fairly crippling.  I do little in my life that is not affected by my anxiety yet, just as someone seriously ill can find fun and smiles in their life, I can also find plenty to bring laughter to my life.

So don’t judge the photos I post on my social media and think ‘things clearly aren’t that bad’.  Those photos are the happy moments in my world, the times when things seem good and not bleak like life can sometimes be.  I choose not to share on Facebook or Instagram when times are tough not because I want my life to appear wonderful, I do it because for me that is not the place.   And I’m not really sure a photo of me laying on the sofa aimlessly staring out of the window would actually be that interesting…

It is said laughing is good for the soul and it certainly does help mine.  It reminds me how much good there is in this life.  Laughter and anxiety are not mutually exclusive states.

Chuckle

7 thoughts on “Anxiety and laughter are not mutually exclusive (daily post prompt)

  1. I know exactly where you’re coming from here.

    I have a habit of going into what I call “joke mode” when I get most anxious. I feel like it is a way to deflect away from my anxiety, but actually I’m not entirely sure people are fooled by it.

    Though I am particularly comfortable with my psychiatrist, I’m not so much with my psychologist, despite having seen her for almost four years now. Once she asked me why I try to be so humorous in our sessions. She asked “Are you just trying to get a reaction?”

    In response to her question, I said “Well, of course!”

    Getting laughter in response to what I feel is humor seems to turn my anxiety into a form of elation (I have bipolar disorder too).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Everyone had their own way of copying with their anxiety and most of the time that doesn’t fit with the textbook image people have of how you ‘should’ behave if you have any mental health issue. Keep on laughing if it works for you I say! Thanks for reading and commenting 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

